Organisation / Governance

ECCSEL is registered as a permanent legal entity, an ERIC.

ECCSEL operations are coordinated by ECCSEL ERIC. An ERIC is a specific legal entity created by the European Commission for large European Research Infrastructures. ECCSEL ERIC is one of the 21 currently existing ERICs and it's head office is located in Trondheim, Norway.


The Head Office of ECCSEL ERIC is coordinating the research infrastructure's central access and operations. ECCSEL has a Director, a General Assembly, a Research Infrastructure Coordination Committee, and Scientific, Industry and Ethical Advisory Boards.


The Director, who is appointed by the General Assembly, is the chief executive officer, chief scientific officer and legal representative of ECCSEL ERIC. The Director is reporting to the General Assembly. He is responsible for the day-to-day management of the Consortium, for implementing the General Assembly's decisions, including the implementation
of the budget, and ensures that ECCSEL ERIC observes all relevant legal requirements.


The Operations Centre is ECCSEL ERIC's main office and location of the ECCSEL ERIC management. It is responsible for central management and planning as well as coordination of the infrastructure operations and development.


The General Assembly is the ultimate authority of ECCSEL ERIC. It is the governing and decision-making body of ECCSEL ERIC which oversees its activities. It adopts strategies and work plans for ECCSEL and supervises its management. The General Assembly is composed of ECCSEL members and observers and the participants currently are:

  • Chair: Jonathan Pearce (BGS, UK)
  • France: Xavier Montagne (Ministry of Education, Higher Education and Research (MESRI)); Isabelle Czernichowski-Lauriol (BRGM)
  • Italy: Grazia Pavoncello (Ministry of Education, University and Research (MIUR)); Fausto Ferraccioli / Valentina Volpi (OGS)
  • The Netherlands: Gerdi Breembroek (Netherlands Enterprise Agency (RVO)); Jan Hopman (TNO)
  • Norway: Åse Slagtern (The Research Council of Norway (RCN)) / David Barratt-Due (Ministry of Petroleum and Energy (OED)) ; Nils Røkke (SINTEF) 
  • United Kingdom: Emily Weatherby (Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy (BEIS)), Helen Taylor-Curran (BGS)


The Scientific Advisory Board (SAB) controls the scientific quality of the services offered by ECCSEL, the organisation’s scientific policies, procedures and future plans. The SAB consist of:

  • Adam Smolinski (Poland)
  • Axel Liebscher (Germany)
  • Eric Favre (France)
  • Sergio Persoglia (Italy)


The Ethics and Environmental Advisory Board is consulted at least once a year on any ethical and environmental issues facing ECCSEL.


The Peer Review Committee assesses applications to access ECCSEL facilities.


The Industrial Advisory Group (IAG) consist of representatives from industrial sectors. It gives advice on commercial application of CCUS technologies. IAG members are:

  • Barthold Schroot (The Netherlands)
  • Chris Gittins (United Kingdom)
  • Fulvio Canonico (Italy)
  • Isabelle Senghor (France)
  • Jim Stian Olsen (Norway)
  • Audun Faanes (Norway)
  • Philip Llewellyn
  • Pål Helge Nøkleby
  • Vincent Meyer
  • Maxime Butler


The Research Infrastructure Coordination Committee (RICC) has a supportive and advisory function and consists of representatives of the ECCSEL facilities and the Director. The task of the RICC is to strengthen the collaboration between the facilities and contribute to experimental research. RICC members are:

  • Audrey Ougier-Simonin (BGS)
  • Simon Gregory (BGS)
  • Cinzia De Vittor (OGS)
  • Alberto Pettinau (SOTACARBO)
  • Didrik René Småbråten (SINTEF)
  • Morten Grønli (NTNU)
  • Rune Bredesen (SINTEF)
  • Kristian Sveen (IFE)
  • Peter van Os (TNO)
  • Sébastien Dupraz (BRGM)
  • Marie-Astrid Soenen (INERIS)
  • Florence Delprat-Jannaud (IFPEN)
  • Aliouka Chabiron (ANDRA)


ECCSEL Operations Centre team

The ECCSEL Operations Centre (OC) manages the daily running of ECCSEL. OC consist of three full time staff and four part time staff.

Part-time staff:

  • Valentina Volpi- Valentina works for the National Institute of Oceanography and Experimental Geophysics (OGS)
  • Sébastien Dupraz - Sébastien works for the French Geological Survey (BRGM)
  • Helen Taylor-Curran - Helen works for the British Geological Survey (BGS)
  • Robert de Kler - Robert works for Netherlands Organisation for Applied Scientific Research (TNO)


Related document: ECCSEL ERIC Statutes (PDF)

Background information: What is an ERIC?

A European Research Infrastructure Consortium (ERIC) is a full legal entity under EU law, with the goal to establish and operate, through its Members, a Research Infrastructure of European importance on a non-economic basis.

ECCSEL ERIC inauguration, Trondheim, June 12th 2017 From the left: Wolfgang Burtscher, Deputy Director-General of the European Commission's Directorate-General for Research & Innovation, Ingvil Smines Tybring-Gjedde, State Secretary in the Ministry of Petroleum and Energy, Sverre Quale, ECCSEL ERIC director. Photo: Thor Nielsen/NTNU


ECCSEL European Research Infrastructure Consortium (ERIC), was established by the European Commision implementing decision of 9. June 2017 (EU) 2017/996.


ECCSEL ERIC is registered in the Norwegian Company Registry with the organisation number 919298243.